Saturday, March 21, 2026

Putting in the dock

I decided to register for the full season of crew this year. I will have to miss some days for work, but when I did the math I decided that the cost was still reasonable enough for what I would be getting, and it was such a good workout + being on the water that I want to do it. Today we put the docks and launches into the water. It was hard. Definitely a strength training workout!

There are 32 sections of dock, some heavier than others. Fortunately there were a lot of people there to help with the work, because it was a lot to move. One thing that I really like about the group is that everyone is equal - everyone was expected and accepted to lift and move things. A couple times I was in a spot where I was like "this is too heavy, I can't lift it" and guy would switch spots with me, but there was never a time when the guys were like "old ladies can't lift." For a while I held a rope that was attached to the dock in the water to make sure it didn't float away - that was cold because the rope was wet, and I thought about post 200 in VT - my hands did not reach that level of cold, thankfully. The most fun job I wound up with was moving the launches in the water around the dock with a couple other people. We got a good system going by the end. We start rowing on the 30th; I'm going to be sore tomorrow but hopefully will be better by the first day of rowing :)

The ask to help said that it would be from 8 am to 11 or 12, but by the time we finished it was 1:00. I was supposed to meet folks at the lake at 2, so I went home and had something to eat. I didn't shower because I was just getting into a lake. We went to the beach today because the ice is totally gone! That happened fast. It was nice to be in a little more nature-y setting, and the many bald eagles were still there to entertain us. There were at least 4, but maybe more. One juvenile flew over us with a giant fish in its claws. We sat around in the sun and enjoyed the birds and company for over an hour before we got it. 

The water is up to 41, which is still cold but obviously getting warmer. It's the warmest temp for and ice mile - I couldn't imagine swimming that. I wore my swim suit, booties with wool socks under them, mittens and a wool hat. It was cold getting in, but after a couple minutes it was a really nice dip - hopefully it will keep me from feeling as sore tomorrow. After my swim I wore my dryrobe, heated mittens, hat and uggs, but I didn't bring hot water and I didn't wear my heated vest. I did take a nice long hot shower and then sit on my couch with my hot pad.

Tomorrow I'm planning on hitting the garden for some clean-up, raspberry cane trimming, and spring set up. Super exciting! 

No comments:

Post a Comment